SLIs, SLOs, SLAs, oh my!

Liz Fong-Jones and Seth Vargo are back again with 8 minutes of action-packed SRE and DevOps education. This video discusses building blocks of the DevOps and SRE practice of measurement: Service Level Indicators (SLIs), Service Level Objectives (SLOs), and Service Level Agreements (SLAs):

“Service Level Objectives” in the O’Reilly SRE Book:

→ SLIs are Service Level Indicators or metrics over time which inform about the health of a service.
→ SLOs are Service Level Objectives which are agreed upon bounds for how often those SLIs must be met.
→ SLAs are business-level agreements which define the service availability for a customer and the penalties for breaking that availability.

SLIs and SLOs are the prescriptive way in which SRE practices the DevOps principle of “measure everything”. Implementing SLOs also forces collaboration between product owners and systems operators, adhering to the DevOps principle of “break down organizational barriers”. This is why we say class SRE implements DevOps.

Reach out to Liz and Seth:

Watch more episodes from the playlist here:
Subscribe to the Google Cloud Platform channel for more Cloud content:

Duration: 8:5
Publisher: Google Cloud
You can watch this video also at the source.

Inxy Hosting CDN Marketplace